View Cart



Out February 26, 2016. Pre-Order Now.
United Sounds of Joy is new project that Michael J. Sheehy has embarked upon with former Dream City Film Club bandmate Alex Vald. DCFC were signed to Beggars Banquet within a year of forming in 1995, released an album and recorded two Peel sessions before Vald was unceremoniously kicked out.
Almost two decades removed from each other’s musical energies, Vald and Sheehy have reunited to craft some truly beautiful, heart-rending, mind-bending music. With an alluring brand of devious pop noir, United Sounds of Joy traverse an emotionally wrought route to a new gothic chanson, where the songs are immersed achingly in an eerie, crepuscular pool of fuzzy, warmly welcoming psychedelics.  Coming on like Joe Meek and Goldfrapp entangled in some ancient machinery, lead track 'The Sun That Hides A Darker Star' is a magnificent, shimmering summer sound and will be available as a free download via United Sounds of Joy's website on the 14th August.
1. Seams of Sorrow
2. The Sun That Hides A Darker Star
3. Dust Veil
4. Wounded Moon
5. I Hear Her Call My Name
6. She Set The Stars In Motion
7. Queen of Seven Dials
8. Free To Fall

Pressing Information

Limited to 1000 x gatefold CDs and 500 x LP (with download code)